Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra

Rep squads named for Inter-District Challenge and Eric Apperly Shield

2017 Eric Apperly Shield team

The Golf Illawarra representative teams for the upcoming Inter-District Challenge and Eric Apperly Shield have been selected.

The Inter-District Challenge will this year be played against the Newcastle DGA on Saturday July 7 and Sunday July 8. The event sees the  day one played as foursomes matches and day two singles. The squad is made up of 8 open age golfer, 4 colts and 4 juniors. The team is listed below;

Anthony Brunero, Thomas Holz, Colin Mitchell, Danny Nesbitt all from Links Shell Cove. They are joined by Jason Ward (Port Kembla), Mark Johnston (The Heads), Paul Fairall (Russell Vale) and Dylan Humphries (The Grange).

The Colt's side is made up of Jackson Hearn (Wollongong), Jamie Krzyzszcak (Links Shell Cove), Lachlan Maddinson (The Heads) & Luke Taylor (Gerringong).

The Junior's team is Eddie Ward )Port Kembla), Will Daibarra and Ethan Harvy from Kiama and Mitch Austin (The Grange)

The Eric Apperly Shield team will play off against ACT Monaro, Central West and the Murray DGA on the weekend of 21-22 July at a venue to be decided. The team is Luke Taylor (Gerringong), Darcy Bond (Kiama), Jackson Hearn (Wollongong), Pete Hamilton (Shoalhaven Ex-Services), Jarrod Woolmer (Russell Vale) and Eddie Ward (Port Kembla).