Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra

Links foursome take out inaugural Ambrose championship

Photo: Jamie Krzyszczak, Nathan Whiteman, James Hegarty and Tom Holz

Jamberoo Open Ambrose Championship

The inaugural Jamberoo Open Ambrose Championship was an outstanding success with 140 players greeting the starter in the Oaks Automotive sponsored event. The inaugural gross champions with an exceptional score of nine under par 58, which included an eagle on the 2nd hole, were the Links Shell Cove team of James Hegarty, Nathan Whiteman, Jamie Krzyszczak and Tom Holz. The nett champions were Joshua Shoveller, David Mason, Mathew Carter and Allen Markovski with their winning score of 55.75. runners-up in the nett were John Anthony, Colin Cuthbertson, Stephen Rippon and Jeff O’Brien with a score of 55.875. Third place in the nett were Keith Hales, Mark Fisher, Pete Wheatley and Andrew Hales with a score of 56.625. Fourth place in the nett were Terry Woods, Brendon Dodds, Stephan Fairbairn, and Grant Bradman with a score of 57.75. fifth place was won by Jason Stoker, Darren Sparks, David Spencer and Paul Zuiderwyck with 58 nett. Sixth place with a score of 58.125 were Peter Francis, Stephen Harrod, Shane Townsend and Franc Turski.

Unfortunately there is always a team that records the worst nett score on the day. Today they are awarded with an encouragement prize of golf hats and socks from Drummond Golf. Greg Clough, Jim Robb, Matthew Rodgers and Brett Squires with a score of 65.625 were our recipients.

Individual prizes for nearest the pins and ‘Monster’ Drives had $50 vouchers donated by Drummond Golf and Oaks Automotive.

Monster Drives:

(A) Stephan Fairbairn (Highlands), (B): Paul O’Leary (C):Joshua Shoveller (Wollongong):(D): Reece Martens 

The longest of the lot was by Joshua Shoveller who manged a 270 metre ‘monster’ onto the 14th fairway.


A Grade 3rd: Chris Leckey 30 cms

B Grade 11th: Mathew Carter 320 cms

C Grade 9th: Neil Higham 90 cms

D Grade 9th: not won

Supershot 7th: George Vlatko 133 cms

Everybody was a winner today with each player receiving a golf ball and tee packet for entering the event. Thank you to our sponsor Steve Oppert for providing this consideration. Congratulations to our winning teams, well played. More importantly, judging by the banter among groups, a great day was had by all.

NSW Combined High Schools Golf Championships and All Schools trials

The south coast CHS golf team travelled to Yamba to compete in the NSW Combined High Schools golf championships. The boy’s team of Jye Halls (Ulladulla HS), Bradley Wills (Warilla HS), Ethan Harvey (Kiama HS) and Wil Daibarra (Kiama HS) won the team event with their total of 679 giving them an 11 shot win over the Hunter District team. Halls (6th), Harvey (7th) and Daibarra (16th) all qualified for the match play section with Wills narrowly missing out. Halls was the best performed in the match play winning two of his four matches. The girls team of Selena Bosevski (Warilla HS), Bella-Rose Pond (Nowra HS) and Rheannah Webb (Goulburn HS) finished third. Bosevski was the best performed finishing 8th and progressing to the match play section. Bosevski won two and lost two in the match play. Halls was named in the boy’s state team and Bosevski as first reserve for the girls team. Halls, Harvey and Bosevski were also announced in the CHS Honours team.

South Coast Golf Team

South Coast Golf Team (B): Denise Clune (Manager), Wil Daibarra, Bradley Wills, Jye Halls                                                                (F): Ethan Harvey, Rheannah Webb, Bella-Rose Pond, Selena Bosevski                                                        

Junior Pennant 

Wollongong hosted Kiama in the first leg of the home and away series of the junior pennant. Kiama were to good for Wollongong winning 4.5-1.5. Wil Daibarra def Josh Hayes 4/2, Ethan Harvey def Coopar Nianios 2/1, Harrison Kiteley lost to Sam Cascio 2/1, Sonny Ettridge squared with Heath Wheeler, Taj Hinkley def Charlie Kerr 5/4 and Jett Parker def Cooper Newell-Glaser 2/1. The second leg will be held at Kiama on Sunday July 14.

Masters Pennant

Kiama will travel to Cronulla on Sunday to take on Stonecutters Ridge in the round of 24. With a win Kiama would join Links Shell Cove in the final 16 on July 14. Links Shell Cove earnt the week off after finishing as 5th seed in the event and will take on the winner of the Magenta Shores and Cammeray match. Kiama if successful would meet Cumberland.

Links Shell Cove Foursomes Championships

Dave Oppert and Chris McGrath have taken out the 2019 foursomes championships. David and Chris joined forces again after a seven year absence and won the foursomes championships for a third time. Oppert and McGrath returned a two under par 68 to hold a one shot lead over Anthony Brunero and Danny Nesbitt after the first 18. Their second round 73, for a total of one over par 141 saw them stretch their margin to eight  after Brunero and Nesbitt faded with 80 and 149 total.  James Toomey and Jason Wills were the nett winners after two consistent rounds saw them finish on 14.

Dave Oppert & Chris McGrath winners of the 2019 Links Shell Cove Foursomes Championships

Photo: Dave Oppert and Chris McGrath