Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra

Juniors dominate Kiama club championships

Kiama golf club president Tug Wilson congratulating club champion Ethan Harvey

Kiama Club Championships

Ethan Harvey has stormed home to claim his maiden club championship title after posting rounds of 67, 69, 72, and 68 for a twelve over par total of 276. Heading into the final round Harvey trailed leader Eddie Ward by five strokes after Ward’s third round three under par 63. Harvey had whittled the lead down to two shots after carding nine straight pars on the front nine. Harvey’s trio of birdies on holes 10, 11 and 12 saw him take the lead and would see him go on to win by three shots from Ward.

Rodney Mair went wire to wire in B grade with rounds of 76,80,79 and 81 for a total of 316 to run out a commanding 17 shot winner. Lawrie Green and Sonny Ettridge both finished on 333 with Green claiming the runner-up spot on a countback.

Thomas Dowd fired rounds of 89,85,83 and 86 for a total of 343 to take out C grade. After trailing young- gun Owen Welsh by seven strokes after round one Dowd’s consistency proved the key to his seven shot win over Welsh who finished on 350.

Graeme Moore was the nett winner in A grade with a total of 260 and Brett Rorie runner-up on 265. Sonny Ettridge took out B grade by twelve shots with his total of 261. David Blomley was runner-up on 273. The C grade nett was won by Jett Parker on 264 and Steven Ashton runner-up on 268.

The junior championship which was held in conjunction with the first two rounds was won by Ethan Harvey with rounds of 67 and 69, with Will Blomley runner-up after rounds of 66 and 73. Jett Parker and Sonny Ettridge both finished with total nett scores of 127, with Parker’s second round 59 seeing him take first.

Junior golf 

Entries for the latest round of the Touchdown Helicopters Jamberoo Junior Open on Sunday close on Wednesday October 23. Further rounds will be played on the following dates.

Kiama - November 10

Highlands - November 17

Links Shell Cove - December 1

Wollongong - December 8

Progress scores from Links Shell Cove and Jamberoo Club Championships

Links Shell Cove

A Grade

Jason Kast - 142

Thomas Holz - 143

Robby Stephenson - 144

James Hegarty - 145

A Reserve

Andrew McColl - 152

Jason Williams - 162

Craig Farnham - 163

Brad Corrie - 163

B Grade 

David Gentles - 171

Mark Beale - 172

Gary Costa - 173

Graeme Sutherland - 174

Kenny Dimovski - 174

C Grade 

Charles Hore - 179

Cos Scazzariello - 183

Peter Giorgianni - 184

Mark Ackroyd - 186


Grant Meredith - 148

Graeme Leake - 155

John Dinoia - 162

Craig Farnham - 163