Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra
July 25, 2017

Jamberoo Open

Ray Orr, nett winner in the recently played Jamberoo Open

Story & Photo: Courtesy of Dave Ransom, Jamberoo GC Captain

Congratulations go to Colin Mitchell from the Links Shell Cove who is the new Jamberoo Open winner. Colin fired an excellent 70 off the stick in very trying, windy conditions. Last year’s champion Danny Nesbitt fired a 71 for 2nd place, while Paul Fairall also shot a four over 71. 

Jamberoo member Ray Orr fired the day’s best nett score of 66 off his 9 handicap to capture the nett trophy. Runner up was Con Kiayias with 68 on a countback from Bruce Byers. 

The A grade gross was won by Russell Vale's Paul Fairall (71), with A grade nett won by the home club's Bruce Byers. B grade gross was won by talented Kiama junior Will Blomley, with the nett winner being Alan Jones (Jamberoo) 69c/b. C grade saw the Jamberoo golfers take out both the gross and nett prizes. The gross was won by Michael Burton with 93 and Nathan Joannou taking out the nett with a 69.

Cooper Maddinson from Shoalhaven Heads has joined the ‘big-hitters’ brigade after his 292 metre drive on the 14th today winning him the long drive award.

Nearest the pin winners were Eric Greentree and Chris Leckey.

With the DSR being 70, balls went to 75 nett.

Steven Townsend from Russell Vale managed an eagle on the par 5 12th today.

The club would like to thank major sponsor Drummond Golf Shellharbour for their support of our event.

Thank you to all competitors for your support of our Open. We hope to see you again next year.