Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra
January 20, 2019

Harvey and Bosevski shine at Touchdown 36

Winners of the Touchdown Helicopters 36, Ethan Harvey and Selena Bosevski

The Touchdown Helicopters 36, the final event in the Touchdown series for 2018 was held on Thursday and Friday. After a packed field at Wollongong for the previous event the field was down for this event It was pleasing that a number of competitiors came from as far as the ACT and Central Coast.

Round one was held at Port Kembla in stifling conditions which tested the players stamina. Fairbairn's Jack Nisbett was the halfway leader in the boy's overall and 15 years plus stroke after a four over par 76. Ethan Harvey (Kiama) 77 and Mitch Austin (The Grange) 78 were next best. Selena Bosevski (Port Kembla) got away to a fast start at her home course and her 81 saw her lead by eight from Toukley's Michelle Moon 89 and NSW member Michelle Di Natale 90. In the boy's 14 and under stroke it was Links Shell Cove junior Brad Wills who led the way on 80 with Shashank Koirala (Bonnie Doon) one back. The top six were separated by five strokes. Sarah Eagleton from The Vale with 40 points led by two from her brother Thomas. 

Day two at Kiama was more bearable with a strong nor-easterly wind making for another challenging day for scoring. Ethan Harvey used a little local knowledge to post 71, the best round of the day to see him take out the overall boy's title with a 36 hole score of 148. Jack Nisbett playing in one of his last events as a junior finished runner-up on 152. Selena Bosevski who had an 83 to go along with her 81 for a 164 total finished seven ahead of Michelle Di Natale (90,81) 171. The overall nett winners were Ryan Wu from NSW Golf Club who had two consistent rounds of 69 for a total of 138. Michelle Di Natale claimed the girl's overall title with a two round total of 150. The stableford competition saw Thomas Eagleton from The Vale back up his first round 38 with a fantastic 43 giving him a total of 81 points. Taj Hinkley (Kiama) backed up his first round 34 with a solid 37 and the runner-up spot with 71 points. 

The age group winners in the boy's 15 years and over were jack Nisbett (152) in the gross and Mitch Austin in the nett on 149. The Boy's 14 and under saw Bonnie Doon's Maximilian Fischer claim the gross title with rounds of 85 and 75. The nett was won by Wollongong's Josh Hayes 71,72 for a total of 143.    

The district championship was held in conjunction with the Touchdown 36 and Ethan Harvey and Selena Bosevski took out the boy's and girl's titles respectively.

The winners in the Touchdown Junior Series were as follows

Boy's 15 + gross - Ethan Harvey (Kiama)

Boy's 15+ nett - Will Blomley (Kiama)

Boy's 14 & under gross - Brad Wills (Links Shell Cove)

Boy's 14 & under nett - Coopar Nianios (Wollongong)

Girl's - Selena Bosevski (Port Kembla)

Stableford - Taj Hinkley (Kiama)

Overall Prize Winners

Daily Prize Winners

Touchdown Helicopters JOS - Results 2018