Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra

Golf Illawarra team takes out team title at Country Championships

The Golf Illawarra team winners of the Bruce Devlin Shield at the recent Country Championships

NSW Country Championships

The Golf Illawarra team of Danny Nesbitt, Anthony Brunero, Colin Mitchell, Thomas Holz, Paul Fairall and mark Johnston travelled to Bathurst on the weekend to contest the NSW Country Championships. The team claimed the Bruce Devlin Shield which counts the four best scores in each round. Golf Illawarra, who trailed by six after round one would take out the title after some solid scoring in round two. The teams total of 582 same them prevail by 3 over the Central Western DGA. Best performers in the individual event were Holz who finished T4th with rounds of 72, 71 to finish at one over par and Paul Fairall T9th 71,73 at two over par.

Jamberoo Club Championships

In a day of great tension and fantastic golf under perfect weather conditions the 2019 Jamberoo Golf Club Championships have concluded in most spectacular fashion.

The A grade champion is Steve Rippon who managed a fine last round of 69 despite a serious shoulder injury. This is Steve’s 6th championship in the last 7 years and his winning score of 272 saw Rippon win by 40 shots.. The A grade nett was won by Tony Rodriguez with a score of 268. George Vlatko who was looking to defend the title he won in 2018, was gross runner up, while Alan Jones was the nett runner-up.

As predicted, B grade was very close with only one shot separating the first three. The winner was Wayne Griffiths who played a fantastic last round of 78 to overhaul third round co-leaders Dave Ransom & Bernie McGlinchey. Griffiths, who trailed by one with three to play earnt his victory by playing three of Jamberoo’s more difficult holes in one over par. Griffiths finished on 334, Ransom 335 and McGlinchey 337. Ransom had to be content with the nett prize. McGlinchey took out the gross runner-up prize and Terry Murphy was nett runner-up.

Jeff Hammersley is the C grade champion for 2019 after a 72 hole total of 362. Third round leader Vince Byrnes was overwhelmed in the last round by Hammersley who fired a magnificent 81 to come from 16 shots behind to win by four from Byrnes. Les Farkas played four consistent rounds to claim the C Grade nett, with club stalwart Geoff Boxsell nett runner-up.