Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra

Fairall dominates Russell Vale championships

Paul Fairall has taken out the Russell Vale club championship for the sixth straight year

Russell Vale Club Championships

  Paul Fairall has taken out his sixth successive and seventh overall Russell Vale Club Championship. Fairall’s 124 after 36 holes saw him lead by one from Steven Townsend. A third round even par 59 saw him extend the lead to six and a 62 in the final round for a 72 hole total of 245 saw him win by 13 from Townsend. Paul Dwyer claimed B grade with his 298 total enough to hold off up and coming junior Thomas Eagleton by three shots. C grade was keenly contested with four players separated by one shot. Samuel Dwyer finished with a total of 333 to edge out Arnold Remiendo, Ray Lewis and Romel Cortiana who all finished on 334. 

The ladies championship and junior championships were both played over 36 holes. Cassidy Graham is the ladies champion for 2019 with her rounds of 67 and 80 giving her a 15 shot victory over Jane Davey. Thomas Eagleton is the junior champion after rounds of 71 and 73 were good enough to keep Josh Hayes at bay whose rounds of 75 and 71 saw him two back from Eagleton.