Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra

Fairall and Townsend dominate

Paul Fairall and Steven Townsend winners of The Vale foursomes championships

Russell Vale Foursomes Championship

Paul Fairall and Steven Townsend have won the 36 hole Russell Vale Foursomes championship for a fourth successive year and taken their tally as partners to five overall. The pair returned rounds of 62 and 64 in the wet and windy conditions. Their eight over par 126 saw them win the event by 8 shots from David Biddulph and Russell Hammond 68,66. The nett event was won by Dennis Moore and Michael Nelson on 117, with Wayne and Ben Grief runners-up on 121.

Masters Pennant 

The preliminary rounds of the Masters pennant have been completed. Division 23 went down to the wire with St Georges Basin, Kiama and Moss Vale heading into the last round equal on points. The final round saw home teams Moss Vale and Kiama both prevail. Kiama won 11 – 4 against Russell Vale and Moss Vale win 8-7 against St Georges Basin. This saw Kiama and Moss Vale both finish on 8 points with Kiama finishing on top with a superior for and against to win by 1.5 matches. Division 24 was clear cut with Links Shell Cove defeating The Grange at home 12-3 to go through the preliminary rounds undefeated winning all six matches. The other match saw Wollongong grab a 9-6 away win over Port Kembla. Links Shell Cove and Kiama will now progress to the state playoffs in July. The clubs will then contest an Illawarra final once play has been completed in the state final series, with the date to be confirmed