Administering, supporting and promoting golf in the Illawarra
January 17, 2018

Champion of Champions

C Grade runner-up Manu Tangu and winner Flash Jordan from the Champion of Champions.

The 2017 Champion of Champions and District Championships were held at Kiama Golf Club on Sunday 17th December. There were a total of 41 starters, whilst up on 2016 was a little disappointing. The course played tough with no-one breaking 70 and only one player managing to have a nett score under 66. The scoring was close with two play-offs required.

The A grade champion of champions was Port Kembla's Jason Ward with 71, with Paul Fairall (Russell Vale) runner-up with a score of 73.

Lawrie Green (Kiama) had the round of the day with his 75 giving him a convincing victory in B grade. Runner-up was Roger Dean from the Grange.

A  three hole play-off was required to decide C Grade with Flash Jordan (Nowra) defeating Manu Tunga (Port Kembla) after both shot 89. Robert French (The Heads) also shot 89 which was adjusted to 90 as his handicap reduced below the C grade limit.

It was another title for Kiama when Wil Daibarra took out the junior title with his 73 enough to hold off Eddie Ward (Port Kembla) 74.

The district championship was also decided by the way of play-off, with Mark Johnston (The Heads), Jason Ward and Jackson Hearn (Wollongong) doing battle. In the end it was Mark Johnston who came out on top.

Golf Illawarra Champion of Champions - A Grade

Golf Illawarra Champion of Champions - B Grade

Golf Illawarra Champion of Champions - C Grade

Golf Illawarra Champion of Champions - Juniors

Golf Illawarra District Championships